Saturday, 20 March 2010

WIPO Sub-regional Roundtable in Bandung

World Intellectual Property Organization ("WIPO") in cooperation with the Directorate General of Intellectual Property Rights ("DGIPR") of Ministry of Law and Human Rights of Indonesia, and Japan Copyright Office ("JCO") held A Roundtable on Management of Copyright and Other Intellectual Property Rights in the Advertising Industry on March 17 and 18, 2010 in the capital city of West Java Province, Bandung.

The Roundtable was attended by delegates from 12 countries (Bangladesh, Cambodia, India, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Si Lanka, Thailand, and Vietnam) and local participants from Jakarta, Surabaya, and Bandung. The speakers included Mr Tomoyuki Aosaki (Producer, Social Projects Planning Division, Densu Inc., Tokyo), Mr Candra Darusman (Deputy Director, WIPO Office in Singapore), Mr Gordon Smith (President, AUS Consultants, New Jersey), Mr. Michael CM Soo, Head of IP and IT Department, Shook Lin & Bok, Kuala Lumpur, and Mr Ricky Pesik (General Secretary, Indonesian Advertising Industry, Jakarta).

The Director General of the DGIPR, Mr Andy N Sommeng, officially opened the roundtable which was held in Hotel Aston Tropicana Bandung.

In that occasion, the DGIPR also organized a visit for foreign delegates to Sawung Udjo which is the famous art center for Sundanese traditional cultures, especially Angklung musical instruments.

Tuesday, 2 March 2010

Signing of MoU on IP Cooperation

Jakarta, 24 February 2010

In the framework of strengthening the awareness and utilization of intellectual property rights (IPRs) system, three ministers i.e. Minister of Law and Human Rights Patrialis Akbar, Minister of Research and Technology Suharna Supranata, and Deputy Minister of National Education Fasli Jalal, signed a Memorandum of Understanding regarding Intellectual Property-based Innovations on Wednesday, 24 February 2010 at the headquarters of Ministry of Law and Human Rights.

In the same occasion, the ministers also witnessed the signing of cooperation agreement on intellectual property between the Directorate General of Intellectual Property Rights (DGIPR) and six universities (Universitas Diponegoro Semarang, Universitas Gadjah Mada Yogyakarta, Universitas Padjadjaran Bandung, Universitas Muhammadyah Jakarta, Universitas Muhammadyah Malang and Universitas Trisakti Jakarta).